Friday, December 12, 2014

Our Lives: Canada after 1945 (2012) by Alvin Finkel

The following offers a summary of Alvin Finkel's Our Lives: Canada after 1945 (2012). I wanted to learn the recent history of Canada, to augment my fragmentary knowledge of persons and events. I ended up retelling Finkel's version of that story to myself.

I will append new sections to the Table of Contents as I draft them.

Table of Contents

PART ONE: In the Shadow of the Giant: 1945-1963

Chapter 1: Brave New World

Chapter 2: A Home Fit For Heroes

3. Post-War Canadian Life

Chapter 3: The Regions and the Provinces

4. Quebec and Ontario

5. The Atlantic Region and the West

Chapter 4: The Politics of a "Middle Power"

6. Canada on the International Scene

PART TWO: Traditions and Invented Identities, 1963-1980

Chapter 5: The Search for Political Identity

7. Liberal Governments, 1963-1974

8. Liberal Government, 1974-1979

9. Canada and the World, 1960s and 1970s

Chapter 6: English Canadian Nationalism

10. Economic In/Dependence from the United States

No comments:

Post a Comment